top of page

Think, think, think...

So you want to write a novel; whether it be your first or your 100th the first thing that needs to happen is you must develop an idea. I know that sounds daunting but put plainly... what are you going to write about? To some this is the easy part. They have a mind full of creative ideas so they grab one of them and take it to the keyboard... a thousand words later they stop because they have run out of material and have no idea what to do next. I call this the limited possibilities idea. No worries, we all have them, usually more often than we want to admit.

Something I have done is take each of the ideas that I have and make list. This list is like a lifeline for writers block. When I am writing something and come to a spot where I am unsure what to write next, I completely stop that idea for one hour. I will grab one of the ideas from my list and write as fast as I can on that idea for one hour. Once that hour is complete, save that document in your "partials" folder and return to your original work. This tactic gives you some powerful creative moments on a new idea so when you return to what you were stuck on earlier you will be firing on all cylinders.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page